I’m back! And, Happy New Year!

Sorry for the long break…I was hibernating. In fact, I probably still am as everyone knows that here in the northern hemisphere, January and February are the most miserable months of the year and should be avoided at all costs.

I hope that everyone had a great holiday season. I know I did. Mine was pretty wine-infused, given that D & I were in California. We’ve been really lucky – in the 3 holiday seasons we’ve been together, D has been able to get either the week before or the week after Christmas off. And, he’s traveled to California with me each year. (I think just in the past couple of weeks has D’s mom realized our yearly journeys to California are not just a selfish undertaking because I have tons of family there! And who doesn’t want to escape cold and snowy at Christmas).

So last weekend one of D’s friends from med school days was in New York interviewing. He met up with us at an adorable (and delicious!) Italian restaurant in an area that I believed was devoid of quality restaurants – the Penn Station area. Anyway, he had just come from visiting an undergrad friend from our home state who has made it big chronicling parties and such around Manhattan. And while I thought I would be intrigued by this, I just found it to all be so vapid. I came to the realization that I am undoubtedly not a social climber.

On a different note, I stopped by one of the library branches post-volunteering today and checked out a super-exciting book on statistics to brush up for the follow-up on a position to which I applied. I suppose it’s a good thing I have no to desire to become somebody in this city because I’d bore them with my t distributions and all.

Leave a Reply

